导 言

导 言 2017-09-25T02:03:58+00:00

儿童是武装冲突的主要受害者。他们是武装冲突的目标,并日益成为被利用的工具。儿童在武装冲突及其后果中所遭受的伤害是多方面的。他们遭受巨大的精神创伤、被屠杀或致残、成为孤儿、被绑架、被剥夺受教育和获得医疗保健的权利。他们被招募成为儿童兵,被迫成为成人仇恨的发泄者。背井离乡、流离失所的儿童极易受到伤害。此外,女童还面临性暴力、性剥削等额外危险。所有这些儿童都是武装冲突的受害者,所有这些儿童都应该受到国际社会的关心与保护。

儿童是无辜的,他们对冲突的适应或反应准备能力较弱,极易受到伤害。他们对冲突负的责任最小,然而却不成比例地承担了冲突所带来的后果。儿童代表社会的希望与未来;摧毁他们便意味着摧毁了社会。

与国际社会的承诺及儿童和武装冲突议程所取得的重大进展不符,冲突中严重侵犯儿童权利的行为继续泛滥、令人震惊。

继续侵犯儿童权利的行为触动着人类的良知,迫使我们采取行动。秘书长在向安理会阐述儿童与武装冲突问题是提出了我们的共同使命:

“我们必须向世界发出强烈的信号,在武装冲突中对儿童犯下可怕暴行的人必会被绳之以法”(来源:在2009年4月29日安理会关于儿童和武装冲突公开辩论上的声明——S/PV.6114)。“在武装冲突中保护儿童是对联合国和本组织会员国的一种试金石。这是一种道义的呼吁,应置于政治之上。它要求所有利益攸关方无畏而有创意地参与。”(安理会公开辩论中的关于2008年7月17日儿童与武装冲突的声明——S/PV.5936)。

Effects of Conflict

Introduction

Children are the primary victims of armed conflict. They are both its targets and increasingly its instruments. Their suffering bears many faces, in the midst of armed conflict and its aftermath. Children are killed or maimed, made orphans, abducted, deprived of education and health care, and left with deep emotional scars and trauma. They are recruited and used as child soldiers, forced to give expression to the hatred of adults. Uprooted from their homes, displaced children become very vulnerable. Girls face additional risks, particularly sexual violence and exploitation. All of these categories of children are victims of armed conflict. All of them deserve the attention and protection of the international community.

Children are innocent and especially vulnerable. Children are less equipped to adapt or respond to conflict. They are the least responsible for conflict, yet suffer disproportionately from its excesses. Children represent the hopes and future of every society; destroy them and you have destroyed a society.

In stark opposition to the commitments of the international community and the significant progress that has been made on the children and armed conflict agenda, grave violations against children in situations of concern continue to be perpetrated on an alarming scale.

The violations that continue to be perpetrated against children shock the human consciousness and compel us to act. The Secretary-General’s words to the Security Council articulate our collective imperative:

“We must send a strong signal to the world that those committing appalling crimes against children in conflict situations will be brought to justice” (Statement at the Security Council Open Debate on Children and Armed Conflict on 29 April 09 – S/PV.6114). “The protection of children in armed conflict is a litmus test for the United Nations and the Organization’s Member States. It is a moral call, and deserves to be placed above politics. It requires innovative, fearless engagement by all stakeholders” (Statement at the Security Council Open Debate on Children and Armed Conflict on 17 July 2008 – S/PV.5936).