儿童与正义

  直到最近,大多武装冲突期间暴力侵害儿童的行为都未受到惩罚,相关犯罪者也依旧逍遥法外。但在过去20年中,国际社会为种植有罪不罚现象建立了一些新的问责机制。这些机制主要表现为两种形式:

  • 法院或法庭:包括塞拉利昂问题特别法庭、卢旺达问题国际法庭和国际刑事法院等;
  • 较不正式的非司法真相与和解委员会:包括塞拉利昂和利比亚境内的真相与和解委员会等

司法程序中的儿童参与

  随着这些司法系统的建立,要求肇事者对其行为负责的呼声越来越高。在此背景下,越来越多的儿童作为受害者和证人参与到了司法程序中。在确保正义得到伸张的同时,各方也为在司法程序中保护儿童权利和最佳利益提出了许多创新想法,包括保护性措施、其他诉讼参与形式及针对儿童的赔偿等。

司法诉讼中的儿童保护

  受害者在司法诉讼中直面记忆和凶手的困难常被低估。如果他们挺身而出说出真相,受害者本人或其家属可能会遭到报复。而在作证过程中的激烈诘问常会重现恐怖事件,再次造成伤害。因此在审理时平衡儿童参与与保护异常重要。开庭时禁止旁听、让声音和图像失真、在证人和被告之间树起屏风以及在陈述前后提供劝导等方法都能在作证时有效保护儿童证人免受潜在影响。

针对儿童的赔偿

  对儿童来说,正义远不止将犯罪者绳之以法。恢复其权利、对其缺失的童年、家庭、教育和生计给予少许赔偿同样重要。法院应在其判决和量刑听证会中列入赔偿项目,向受害者提供身体康复、教育和社会心理支助等援助。

更多信息,请查阅《武装冲突期间及之后儿童与正义工作文件》。

Children and Justice

Until recently, violations against children during armed conflict have gone largely unpunished and perpetrators of such crimes have not been held accountable. Yet, over the past 20 years, the international community has set up a number of new accountability mechanisms with the aim of ending impunity for violations against children. These mechanisms essentially take two forms:

  • Judicial courts or tribunals including the Special Court for Sierra Leone, the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and the International Criminal Court;
  • More informal non-judicial truth and reconciliation commissions such as in Sierra Leone and Liberia.

Participation of children in justice processes

With the establishment of these justice systems, perpetrators are now increasingly being held accountable for their acts. In this context, children are also increasingly participating in these justice processes as victims and witnesses. A number of innovative ideas have been developed to protect the rights and best interests of children while ensuring that justice is done, including protective measures, alternative forms of participation and child-specific reparations.

Protection of children in judicial proceedings

The difficulty for victims to come forward in judicial proceedings and face their memories and their assailants is often underestimated. If they speak, there could be reprisals on them or their families. If they testify, they will have to be able to undergo a vigorous cross-examination that often results in re-living horrific events. Balancing participation and the protection of children during court proceedings is of great importance. Closed sessions, voice and image distortion, screens between the witness and the accused, as well as pre- and post-statement counselling are all useful methods to protect child witnesses from possible consequences when they testify.

Reparations for children

For children, justice includes far more than punishing a perpetrator. Equally important are the restoration of their rights and an element of reparation to address their loss of childhood, family, education, and livelihood. Courts should include reparations in their judgment and sentencing hearings, providing victims with assistance in the form of physical rehabilitation, education, and psycho-social support.

For more information, read the Working Paper Children and Justice during and in the Aftermath of Armed Conflict.