女童

  女童在武装冲突局势中十分脆弱,并且极易成为性暴力和剥削的受害者。因此,她们需要受到特别关注和保护。

女童的脆弱性

  女童常在战争中遭到强奸或遭受其他形式的性暴力,身心健康都受到有害影响。与武装团体有关系的女童可能被迫结婚和早孕。

  部分武装团体即使承诺释放儿童,有时仍会拒绝交出遭到囚禁的女童,而是将其作为“妻子”。长时间与武装团体有关的年轻妇女可能会因其家庭纽带和长期形成的依赖决定留下。当部分女童由于与叛乱团体有关(包括因“被强奸”受到羞辱),被其所在社区抛弃时,情况更是如此。

女童的特殊需求

  虽然女童继续照料和服务,重返社会方案常忽视了她们的需求。导致这一现象的原因是许多女童不愿被当做“丛林妻子”,或让孩子被贴上“叛军之子”的标签。

  即使女童所受到的关注正逐步增多,包括负责儿童与武装冲突问题的特别代表办公室在内的儿童保护团体必须继续努力,通过有效宣传和恰当的重返社会方案进一步满足女童的特殊需求。

Girl Child

Girls are vulnerable in situations of armed conflict and at a great risk of becoming victims of sexual violence and exploitation. They thus need special attention and protection.

Vulnerability of girls

In times of war, girls are raped and suffer from other forms of sexual violence with detrimental effect on their physical and mental health. When associated with an armed groups, girls might be forced into marriage and early pregnancy.

Even after commitments have been made to release children, armed groups sometimes refuse to give up the girls, holding them captive as “wives.” After years of association with an armed group, young women may decide themselves to stay because of their family ties and the dependency that have evolved over time. This is even more true in situations, where girls are rejected by their own communities because of their associations with rebel groups, including the “taint” of having been raped.

Special needs of girls

Girls are most often bypassed in reintegration programmes even though they are in greatest need of care and services. The reason is that many girls are unwilling to come forward to be identified as “bush wives” or to have their children labelled as “rebel babies.”

Even though girls are gradually receiving more attention, the child protection community, including the Office for Children and Armed Conflict must strive to further address the special needs of girls through effective advocacy and appropriate reintegration programs.