境内流离失所儿童

  据估计,全球约有1120万至1370万儿童因武装冲突成为境内流离失所者。强迫流离失所使得儿童和青年在最需要稳定生活的时候失去家园。

流离失所加重儿童的脆弱性

  在逃离冲突地区时,各个家庭和儿童常面对多重人身危险。他们受到袭击、炮击和地雷的威胁,经常需在水和食物有限的条件下步行数日。在这种情况下,儿童经常严重营养不良,容易生病和死亡。女童在流离失所期间特别容易受到性虐待。

  许多为躲避强行征召逃离家园的儿童发现,流离失所仍会使他们面临被征召的风险,特别是在没有证件又单独旅行的情境中。此外,境内流离失所儿童常无法获取教育和保健服务。

境内流离失所儿童的权利

  武装冲突中的境内流离失所儿童与其他所有儿童拥有同等权利。各项人权和人道主义法明确保障其权利。

这些权利和保障包括:

  • 非歧视原则
  • 获得证件的权利
  • 不受暴力和虐待侵害
  • 获得基本服务的权利
  • 在处理境内流离失所儿童问题时以儿童最佳利益为重原则

  《关于武装冲突中境内流离失所儿童的权利和保障的工作文件》为各国政府和其他人道主义行动方就如何宣传这些儿童的权利并提供充分保护进行了指导。

Internally Displaced Children

Around the globe, an estimated 11.2 million to 13.7 million children have been internally displaced as a result of armed conflict. Forced displacement uproots children and youths at a time when their lives most need stability.

Displacement compounds children’s vulnerability

During flight from conflict zones, families and children are often exposed to multiple physical dangers. They are threatened by attacks, shelling, and landmines, and must often walk for days with only limited quantities of water and food. Under such circumstances, children often become acutely undernourished and prone to illness, and death. Girls are especially vulnerable to sexual abuse during displacement.

Many children abandon home to avoid forced recruitment, only to find that displacement exposes them to the risk of recruitment, especially if they have no documentation and travel alone. Moreover, internally displaced children often lack access to education and health services.

The rights of IDP children

Children in armed conflict who are internally displaced have rights just as all other children. Their rights are expressly guaranteed in an extensive body of human rights and humanitarian law.

These rights and guarantees include:

  • the principle of non-discrimination
  • the right to documentation
  • protection from violence and abuse
  • the rights to essential services
  • the requirements that when dealing with internally displaced children the best interest of the child must prevail.

The Working Paper on The Rights and Guarantees of Internally Displaced Children in Armed Conflict offers guidance to governments and other humanitarian actors in how to advocate for their rights and provide adequate protection.