地雷、集束弹药和未爆弹药

  儿童在许多情况下都容易受到地雷、集束弹药和未爆弹药的伤害。这些高危装置有时与玩具外形相似,而生性好奇的儿童有可能捡起这些奇怪的物品。儿童还可能因无法辨认或读懂警示标识而面临风险。同成人相比,由于身体幼小、容易受伤,他们更有可能死于地雷伤害。

2010年的伤亡数字

  据“地雷和集束弹药监测”组织报告,2010年因地雷、由受害者触发的简易爆炸装置、集束弹药和其他战争遗留爆炸物导致的新增伤亡人员达4 191名,涉及60个国家。仅研究最近四年的平民伤亡情况就可发现,每年儿童要占受害者总人数的一半左右。2010年儿童伤亡最多的国家是阿富汗、柬埔寨、苏丹、老挝人民民主共和国、巴基斯坦和也门。由于男童比女童更多参与放牧、收集柴禾和食物等户外活动,大多数儿童伤亡者为男性。

伤亡之外的影响

  由于需要时间康复且经济负担沉重,许多国家的儿童幸存者不得不提前终止接受教育。即便儿童并未直接受害,一旦父母因地雷受伤、无法工作和照料儿童时,地雷和未爆弹药也会对其生活造成不可抗拒的影响。地雷和未爆弹药妨碍了冲突后发展与重建、阻止人们下地劳作和获取其他资源,同时也为返回家园的儿童和境内流离失所儿童带来风险。

关于地雷和战争遗留爆炸物的管理条例和禁令

  包括《国际禁止杀伤人员地雷公约》(1997年)和《集束弹药公约》(2008年)在内的多项国际规范对使用地雷和战争遗留爆炸物进行了管制或禁止。各项条约所设想的雷险教育和弹药安全储存的保障措施是短期内确保儿童安全最有效的解决方案。

Landmines, Cluster Munitions, and Unexploded Ordnances

Children are particularly vulnerable to landmines, cluster munitions and unexploded ordnance in a number of ways. These devices sometimes look like toys and children who are curious are likely to pick up the strange objects. Children are also at risk because they may not recognize or be able to read warning signs. Children are far more likely to die from their mine injuries than are adults because of harm they do to their small bodies.

Causality figures in 2010

The Landmine and Cluster Munition Monitor reported 4,191 new causalities from mines, victim-activated improvised explosive devices, cluster munitions, and other explosive remnants of wars in 60 States in 2010. When looking only at civilian causalities in the last four years, each year, children have accounted for nearly half of the total number of victims. States with the most child causalities in 2010 were Afghanistan, Cambodia, Sudan, Lao PDR, Pakistan and Yemen. The majority of child causalities are boys because they are more involved than girls in outdoor activities such as herding livestock, gathering wood and food.

Effects beyond causalities

In many countries, child survivors have to end their education prematurely due to the period of recovery needed and the financial burden of rehabilitation on families. Even where children are not the direct victims, landmines and unexploded ordnance have an overwhelming impact on their lives, when a parent is a mine causality and is no longer able to work and to take care of the children. Landmines and unexploded ordnances impede post-conflict development and reconstruction, blocking access to land and other resources and pose risks to returnees and internally displaced children.

Regulation and ban of landmines and explosive remnants of war

Several international norms regulate or ban the use of landmines and explosive remnants of war including the International Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Treaty (1997) and the Convention on Cluster Munitions (2008). Mine-risk education and securing stockpiled munitions as foreseen by the treaties, are the most effective short-term solutions to keeping children safe.