征召儿童的根本原因

  儿童被认为是替代成年战士最为经济人选。他们很容易被洗脑。而且由于死亡的概念尚未形成,他们可以成为高效的战士。

强行征召与“自愿”应征入伍

  强行征召指绑架儿童并屈打就范。该行径长期以来都是儿童成为士兵的典型模式。尽管许多团体无疑仍在绑架和胁迫儿童加入其组织,但导致儿童卷入武装冲突的还有其他推动因素。

推动因素和拉动因素

  贫困可能是儿童加入武装部队和武装团体的一项重要原因。对部分儿童来说,加入武装团体意味着有饭吃。而对部分家长来说,有饭吃、有房住就是他们送子女参加武装运动的理由。

  此外,歧视也是一个重要激发因素。族裔、部落和宗教身份等歧视相关因素在动员包括儿童在内的整个社区时极为有效。当儿童目睹杀戮、父母被羞辱、姐妹被强奸后,他们会出于复仇心理加入武装团体。此外,许多儿童还因自己的家庭和社区要求他们为保卫社区贡献力量而加入武装团体。

  儿童有时还会被灌输牺牲和英勇就义的想法,受到错误诱导。

不存在自愿入伍

  区分“自愿”入伍与强行征召并无意义。即使儿童“自愿”入伍,也多是为了求生孤注一掷。由于招募儿童的决定通常由成年指挥官最终做出,他们必须对其行为负责。

了解根本原因

  各方仍不够了解儿童参与武装冲突的根本动机。为防止招募儿童并对该问题做出响应,各方需要进行更深入地研究。

Root Causes of Child Recruitment

Children are considered an economically efficient alternative to adult combatants. They are easily indoctrinated and are efficient fighters because they have not yet developed a concept of death.

Forced vs. “voluntary” recruitment

Forced recruitment, where many children were abducted and beaten into submission, was for a long time the archetype of child soldiering. While there is no doubt that many groups continue to abduct and coerce children to join, there are other push and pull factors that result in children becoming involved in armed conflict.

Push and pull factors

Poverty can be an important motivating factor to join armed forces and groups. For some children joining armed groups ensures one meal which is why some parents give their children to the movement in the hope that they will be fed and housed.

Discrimination is also a key motivating factor. Ethnic, tribal and religious identity, linked to the notion of discrimination, is potent in the mobilization of whole communities including children. When children witness the killing, humiliation of their parents and watch their sisters being raped, they might join out of a feeling of revenge. Many children are also requested by their families and communities to play their part in the defence of the community.

Sometimes young boys and girls can be attracted by the idea of martyrdom and heroic death.

There is no voluntary enlistment

The distinction between “voluntary” enlistment and forced recruitment is without meaning because even if children join on a “voluntary” basis, it is a desperate attempt to survive. Ultimately it is the decision of adult commanders to recruit children and they have to be held accountable for their acts.

Understanding the root causes

Gaps remain in understanding the underlying motivations of children to engage in armed conflict. This needs more in depth research, in order to prevent and respond to child recruitment.