袭击学校和医院

  即便在冲突期间,学校和医院也必须是和平地带,在这里的儿童也应受到保护。然而,学校和医院遭到袭击的事件一段时间以来不断增加,为儿童带来了不利影响。

冲突的直接影响

  除对学校和医院直接造成实际损失外,冲突还会使这些机构被迫关闭或停止运行。例如,如果儿童、教师、医生和护士被疑为向冲突中的一方提供支持,他们就会遭到另一方的威胁。此外,将学校用于军事目的、作为征兵场所和投票站也行径也应受到严重关切。

冲突的间接影响

  由于反对普通教育、反对女童接受教育、或反对女童接受男性医务人员的医治,一些武装团体会阻止她们获得这些服务。冲突造成的整体不安全也阻止了儿童、教师和医务人员前往学校或寻求医疗援助。举例来说,家长会发现安全局势不稳定时将其子女送往学校过于危险,或者儿童会因检查站和路障而不能被及时送医。

根据国际法予以禁止

  国际人道主义法明确规定,学校和医院都是受保护的平民目标,因此受区别和相称性人道主义原则保护。自2011年以来,针对学校和医院的袭击及对这些机构进行直接威胁并致其关闭的行为已被增设为列入秘书长羞辱名单的标准。

Attacks on Schools and Hospitals

Schools and hospitals must be zones of peace, where children are granted protection even in times of conflict. Yet, there is an increasing trend of schools and hospitals being attacked with detrimental effects on children.

Direct impact of conflict

Apart from the direct and physical damage to schools and hospitals, conflict can result in the forced closure or the disrupted functioning of these institutions. Children, teachers, doctors and nurses are also subject to threats by parties to conflict if suspected, for example, to support the other party to the conflict. Also of great concern is the use of schools for military purposes, as recruitment grounds and polling stations.

Indirect impact of conflict

Some armed groups are opposed to secular and girls’ education, or to girls being treated by male medical personnel and subsequently hamper access to these services. A general climate of insecurity as a result of conflict also prevents children, teachers and medical personnel from attending school or seeking medical assistance. Parents, for example, may find it too risky to send their children to school in a volatile security situation, or children may be denied timely access to hospitals because of checkpoints and roadblocks.

Prohibition under International Law

Under international humanitarian law, both schools and hospitals are protected civilian objects, and therefore benefit from the humanitarian principles of distinction and proportionality. Direct physical attacks and the closure of these institutions as a result of direct threats have since 2011 been added as triggers for the Secretary-General’s list of shame.