征召儿童兵

  全世界有数十万儿童在武装冲突中被用作儿童兵。许多儿童遭到绑架并屈打就范。还有部分儿童为摆脱贫困、保卫家园或出于报复心理加入军事团体。

作战角色和辅助性角色

  在许多冲突中儿童都会直接参战。然而,他们在冲突中的角色并不仅限于战斗人员。许多儿童在开始时会承担辅助性职责。而该类角色也包含着巨大的风险和困难。搬运工即分配给儿童的常见任务之一,他们经常需要搬运重物,包括弹药、受伤士兵等。此外,儿童也承担哨兵、信使、厨师等,并需要完成其他日常工作。武装冲突中的女童尤为脆弱。她们经常被迫充当性奴隶。此外,利用儿童实施恐怖行动,包括充当人体炸弹等行径,已成为了现代战争的一种常见现象。

漫长的愈合过程

  无论其被征召的方式和所担任的角色如何,儿童兵都是受害者。参与冲突为其身心健康带来了严重影响。他们通常会受到虐待,且其中的大多数都目睹过死亡、杀戮和性暴力行为。许多人被迫犯下暴行,一些人遭受着长期的严重心理创伤。因而帮助这些儿童重返社会是一个非常复杂的过程。

根据国际法予以禁止

  包括条约和惯例在内的国际人道主义法明确禁止征召和使用15岁以下的儿童兵。国际刑事法院则将该做法定为了战争罪。此外,人权法宣称征召人员入伍、参与敌对行动的最低法定年龄为18岁。征召和使用儿童兵的冲突当事方将被秘书长列入其年度羞辱名单中。

儿童兵的定义

  与武装部队或武装团体有关系的儿童指18岁以下被武装部队或武装团体以任何身份征召或曾被征召的人,其用途包括但不仅限于充当战士、厨师、搬运工、间谍或用于性目的。(资料来源:《关于儿童卷入武装冲突的巴黎原则》,2007年)。

Child Recruitment

Hundreds of thousands of children are used as soldiers in armed conflicts around the world. Many children are abducted and beaten into submission, others join military groups to escape poverty, to defend their communities, out of a feeling of revenge or for other reasons.

Combat and support roles

In many conflicts children take direct part in combat. However, their role is not limited to fighting. Many girls and boys start out in support functions that also entail great risk and hardship.

One of the common tasks assigned to children is to serve as porters, often carrying heavy loads, including ammunition or injured soldiers. Some children act as lookouts, messengers, cooks or other routine duties. Girls are particularly vulnerable. They are often forced to serve as sexual slaves. Moreover, the use of children for acts of terror, including as suicide bombers, has emerged as a phenomenon of modern warfare.

A long healing process

Regardless of how children are recruited and of their roles, child soldiers are victims, whose participation in conflict bears serious implications for their physical and emotional well-being. They are commonly subject to abuse and most of them witness death, killing, and sexual violence. Many are forced to perpetrate these atrocities and some suffer serious long-term psychological consequences. The reintegration of these children into civilian life is a complex process.

Definition of a child soldier

A child associated with an armed force or armed group refers to any person below 18 years of age who is, or who has been, recruited or used by an armed force or armed group in any capacity, including but not limited to children, boys and girls, used as fighters, cooks, porters, spies or for sexual purposes.
(Source: Paris Principles on the Involvement of Children in Armed Conflict 2007)

Prohibition under International Law

Human rights law declares 18 as the minimum legal age for recruitment and use of children in hostilities. Recruiting and using children under the age of 15 as soldiers is prohibited under international humanitarian law – treaty and custom – and is defined as a war crime by the International Criminal Court. Parties to conflict that recruit and use children are listed by the Secretary-General in the annexes of his annual report on children and armed conflict.