性暴力

  性暴力日益成为冲突的特征。儿童经常在法治真空的状态下遭受性暴力。在一些情况下,性暴力还被用作羞辱他人或强迫流离失所的一种战术。

破坏性后果

  遭受过性暴力的儿童将遭受长期的心理创伤,承受包括艾滋病/艾滋病病毒等传染性疾病和早孕等健康恶果。由于社区常羞辱与武装团体有关的女童、怀疑其遭到过强奸,帮助这些儿童重返社会的任务愈加具有挑战性。遭到强奸并产下婴儿的年轻母亲,在家庭关系和长期养成的依赖影响下常选择留在武装团体内,以避免受到社区的羞辱。这些女童及其子女特别容易受到卖淫和贩运等各种形式的剥削,需要受到特殊保护。

性暴力与男童

  男童也是冲突中性暴力的受害者。例如,阿富汗的舞男习俗仍十分普遍。这种性奴役和儿童卖淫做法会将男童卖给军队和政治领导人等有钱有势的男子,供其消遣并进行性活动。

  而男童作为性暴力证人或犯罪者所受到的创伤也常被低估。在来自指挥官的直接压力或来自同伴的间接压力下,他们也有可能被迫实施强奸行为。

根据国际法予以禁止

  强奸和其他针对儿童的性暴力侵犯人权,等同于严重违反国际人道主义法的行为。如将性暴力用作袭击平民的普遍或系统做法,则根据《国际刑事法院罗马规约》,该行为可构成战争罪和危害人类罪。

  安理会于第1882(2009)号决议中将针对儿童的性暴力行为定为优先事项,呼吁武装冲突当事方为此拟定并执行行动计划。此外,性暴力还是秘书长点名羞辱在武装冲突期间严重侵害儿童权利当事方的标准之一。

Sexual Violence

Sexual violence is increasingly a characteristic of conflict and is often perpetrated against girls and boys in a rule of law vacuum. In some instances sexual violence has been used as a tactic of war designed to humiliate a population or to force displacement.

Devastating consequences

Children who experience sexual violence suffer from long-term psychological trauma, health consequences including transmitted infections such as HIV/AIDS and early pregnancies. Their reintegration is even a greater challenge as communities often stigmatize girls who have been associated with armed groups and are suspected of having been raped.

Young mothers of babies born of rape often stay with the armed group because of the family ties and dependency that have evolved over time and to avoid social stigma in the communities at home. These girls and their children are particularly vulnerable to all forms of exploitation including prostitution and trafficking and need special protection.

Sexual violence and boys

Boys are also victims of sexual violence in conflict. For example, in Afghanistan the practice of Baccha Baazi (dancing boys), remains a widespread phenomenon. It is a form of sexual slavery and child prostitution in which boys are sold to wealthy or powerful men, including military and political leaders for entertainment and sexual activities.

Another aspect that tends to be underestimated is the trauma boys face as witnesses or perpetrators of sexual violence. They may be forced to commit rapes either directly by their commander or indirectly through peer pressure.

Prohibition under International Law

Rape and other forms of sexual violence against children are human rights violations, and may amount to grave breaches of international humanitarian law. If committed as part of a widespread or systematic attack against a civilian population, sexual violence can constitute war crimes and crimes against humanity under the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court.

Under Security Council resolution 1882 (2009), the Council designated sexual violence committed against children as a critical priority and called on parties to armed conflict to prepare and implement action plans to address the violation. Sexual violence is also a trigger for the Secretary-General’s list of shame of parties to conflict committing grave violations against children in armed conflict.