小武器

  小武器和轻武器随时随地可得,使越来越多的儿童被作为战士使用,并造成其死伤和残疾。

征召儿童现象加剧

  国家间战争向国内战争转变、武装团体数量增多以及易于获得小武器使过去50年中招募和使用儿童的数量增加。轻型自动卡拉什尼科夫冲锋枪(AK-47)成为世界上最常用的武器,其使用者包括数十万儿童。因此,任何遏制征召儿童的战略都必须包含相应的武器控制倡议,避免其加剧冲突。

  武力观念会促使更多儿童成为儿童兵。而武器与这种观念之间存在着明确的联系。许多儿童兵在讲述其经历时都谈到,他们一扛起枪就觉得自己有力量。尽管一些儿童兵很快适应了新生活,得以重返社会。但仍有许多儿童兵很难放下武器变回平民。

对冲突强度和持续时间的影响

  小武器和轻武器监管不力以及经常出现违禁贸易,也对武装冲突的强度、持续时间以及儿童造成了影响,破坏了和平进程,妨碍提供人道主义援助。此外,小武器和轻武器也是导致大多数冲突相关死亡事件的原因。

推动签署《武器贸易条约》

  各国政府有责任对流向冲突地区的武器进行控制。时至今日,国际武器贸易方面的监管仍然不到位。不过大会已在2012年召开一次关于《武器贸易条约》的会议,详细制订了一份关于常规武器转移国际标准的约束性文书。这一倡议得到了特别代表的支持。

Small Arms

The ready availability of small arms and light weapons facilitates the use of children as combatants and results in death, injuries, and maiming of girls and boys.

Rise in child recruitment

The shift from inter-state to civil wars, the increasing number of armed groups, and the easy availability of small arms contributed to an increased number of children being recruited and used in the past 50 years. The lightweight automatic Kalashnikov (AK-47) has become the most used arm in the world, including by hundreds of thousands of children. Any strategy to counter the recruitment of children must therefore contain initiatives to better control arms that fuel conflicts.

There is a clear link between weapons and the notion of power that contributes to shaping the identity of a child soldier. When describing their experience, many child soldiers talk about the strength they felt when they carried a gun. Although some former child soldiers adjust quickly to their new life, many find it difficult to put down their weapons and become civilians.

Impact on intensity and duration of conflict

The poorly regulated and often illicit trade of small arms and light weapons has also an impact on the intensity and duration of armed conflicts and on children, undermines peace processes, and hinders the provision of humanitarian assistance. Moreover, small arms and light weapons are responsible for the majority of conflict-related deaths.

Towards an Arms Trade Treaty

Governments are responsible for controlling the transfer of arms to conflict zones. As of today, the international arms trade remains poorly regulated but the General Assembly will be convening a Conference on the Arms Trade Treaty in 2012 to elaborate a legally binding instrument on international standards for the transfer of conventional arms – an initiative supported by the Special Representative.