我们的工作

  特别代表办公室,联合国儿童基金会和联合国各主要实体、各会员国、区域组织、非政府组织和其他民间社会团体之间的协同努力已在儿童保护方面取得了重大进展、欣见多项行动和实际成果。

  这些进展包括增强对受武装冲突影响儿童问题的全球意识;发展和加强对儿童保护的国际规范和标准;大会和人权理事会对该问题持续地优先考虑和重视;通过安理会的系统性约定,把儿童与武装冲突纳入国际和平与安全的议程;在联合国系统的宣传工作中深化儿童与武装冲突问题方面的主流意识。

  通过运用和执行国际规范和标准,由国家法庭(如刚果民主共和国)和包括国际刑事法院和塞拉利昂问题特别法庭在内的国际法庭在消除有罪不罚、追究严重侵犯儿童权利者责任的斗争过程中树立了重要的先例。

  安全理事会对相关工作的积极开展及其对国际标准的运用大大加强了儿童保护倡导者的工作。在过去三年里,政治层面的儿童保护对话取得了显著成果,促使冲突各方作出承诺,同时也为实地的保护儿童工作带来了具体成果。

  特别代表办公室与维持和平行动部合作将保护儿童问题纳入了维和行动。儿童权利和保护以被融入维和人员培训内容。此外,维和特派团还部署了儿童保护问题顾问。

  为将冲突后的儿童问题纳入和平建设工作议程,特别代表还围绕该议题发起了重要讨论。特别代表将继续提倡考虑儿童兵复原问题,包括较为长期的重返社会需求、教育和青年就业策略等。

  针对受武装冲突影响的儿童处境及其权利,实地访问一直是特别代表宣传战略的核心内容。过去三年中,特别代表进行了12次国家访问。

  区域组织(如非洲联盟和欧洲联盟)也开始履行其在维持和平、缔造和平和建设和平倡议中的相关承诺。另外,欧洲联盟还采用了一项相关战略,旨在彻底贯彻欧洲联盟关于儿童与武装冲突问题的指导方针。

  有78个会员国承诺坚决执行《巴黎承诺》和《关于与武装部队和武装团体有关系的儿童的原则和准则》。这两份文件为与武装团体有关系的儿童解除武装、复员和重返社会提供了准则。

  国际和区域一级的行动必须由国家一级提供支持。各国需承诺处理有罪不罚现象。各会员国必须将这一问题作为最紧迫的优先事项,就保护儿童问题对本国立法进行改革。

Our Work

Actions

Collaborative efforts between the Office of the Special Representative, the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) and key United Nations entities, as well as Member States, regional organizations, NGOs and other civil society groups, have resulted in significant advances, actions and tangible results for children.

These advances include increased global awareness of the issues concerning children affected by armed conflict; development and strengthening of international norms and standards
for the protection of children; consistent focus and prioritization of this issue by the General Assembly and the Human Rights Council; placing children and armed conflict on the international peace and security agenda through systematic engagement of the Security Council; and deeper mainstreaming of children and armed conflict in the United Nations system and concerted advocacy.

Important precedents are being set through the application and enforcement of international norms and standards in the fight to end impunity and achieve accountability for grave child rights violations by National Tribunals such as in DRC and International Tribunals including the International Criminal Court and the Special Court of Sierra Leone.

The strength of the Security Council’s proactive process, combined with the application of international standards, has considerably enhanced the work carried out by child protection advocates. In the last three years political-level child protection advocacy dialogue has resulted in tangible outcomes in the form of commitments by parties to conflict, which has also translated into specific results for the protection of children on the ground.

A key partnership between the Office of the Special Representative and the Department of Peacekeeping Operations has resulted in the incorporation of children’s issues in peacekeeping operations through child rights and protection in training for peacekeepers and the deployment of child protection advisors in peacekeeping missions.

The Special Representative has also initiated important conversations with the Peacebuilding Commission on child demobilization, longer-term reintegration needs, education and youth employment strategies.

Field visits by the Special Representative have been a central element of her advocacy strategy to bring high-level visibility to the situation and rights of children affected by armed conflict. In the past three years, the Special Representative has undertaken 12 country visits.

Beyond the United Nations, regional organizations such as the African Union and the European Union have begun to implement the commitments that they have made to children in the context of their own peacekeeping, peacemaking and peacebuilding initiatives. Notably the European Union adopted a strategy for the practical implementation of the European Union Guidelines on Children and Armed Conflict.

Another significant political-level initiative is the strong commitment expressed by Member States to the Paris Commitments and the Principles and Guidelines on Children Associated With Armed Forces or Armed Groups, which provide guidelines on the disarmament, demobilization and reintegration of all categories of children associated with armed groups.

It cannot be stressed strongly enough that action at the international and regional levels must be underpinned by a commitment to address impunity at the national level. Member States, as a matter of most urgent priority, must ensure that they undertake appropriate reforms of national legislation for the protection of children.